Please note that the original name given to this school in 1904 was 'Hammerton Street School'. In 1926 the name of the street was changed to Ouseburn Croft. Since then, it became know as 'Kettlebridge School' after a local blacksmith called John Kettle whose workshops repaired tools for men building the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway line.
O O O
The Kettlebridge School is a truely magnificent building which was closed in July 1994 and was left to decay for a considerable time. Its unique nouveau art features makes this building the only one still standing today in the Sheffield area. It is currently in the hands of the Madni Trust which hopefully will bring it back to its former glory. All images taken during summer 2008.
Kettlebridge School is a Grade II listed building. Many thanks to the Madni Trust for allowing access to this historic place.